Broccoli Leek Soup

Broccoli Leek Soup from Bailey1806

Ingredients:
1 large bunch broccoli
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 tbsp. butter (unsalted)
2 medium leeks (white and light green parts only, thinly sliced)
1 medium baking potato (peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces)
1 garlic clove (thinly sliced)
3 cups water
3 cups low-sodium chicken broth (vegetable broth for vegetarian option)
3/4 tsp. salt
pinch of freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup half and half (optional)
1/4 cup snipped chives

Separate broccoli stems from florets. Remove tough outer layer from stems with a vegetable peeler (if necessary) and slice into 1/4 inch thick “coins.” Break the florets into small pieces and set aside.

In a soup pot, heat oil and butter over medium heat. Add leeks and cook, stirring often, until softened and fragrant, about 3 minutes. Add broccoli stems, potato and garlic and cook 2-3 minutes. Add 3 cups of water, broth, salt and pepper and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover partially and simmer until broccoli and potato are tender, about 12 minutes.

Add florets, bring to a boil then simmer for 5 minutes. Use an immersion blender to puree until smooth. Add half and half (if using) and chives and re-heat before serving. I usually freeze the soup in 1-2 serving portions and sprinkle cheddar cheese on top when serving.

Notes:

    I rarely take the time to chop up garlic, but get the jar of minced garlic from the grocery store and save myself two minutes of my life once or twice a week when cooking.
    I rarely measure out salt and pepper, and sometimes I even leave them out because I prefer to add it later when I’m serving the dish, since every one likes a different amount.
    I do not add the half and half, because I usually use extra broccoli and that makes it thick enough, plus I get the dairy when I sprinkle with cheddar.
    I usually forget to buy fresh chives, or don’t want to be stuck with extra, so I use the dried chives from my spice rack, use only 1/8 of a cup and add with the florets so they get softened by cooking a little.

This is originally from an Oprah cookbook.

Leave a Reply

